Chat Place Forum

Forum for general chat. Welcome to chat place forum

It is currently Fri May 24, 2024 10:38 am
---------->CLICK HERE TO CHAT LIVE NOW<----------

Post subject: Photography and schooling, want professional photographers opinions.?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:15 am 

I have been doing lots of photography work for about 3 years now. Just now have I taken it to a professional level and started doing portrait photography for families, children, couples and more. Although I like to do nature photography, I feel like I specialize more in portrait photography. To me, I am rather good with what I do with what little schooling I have had with photography. College is not an option right now, and most likely won't be for a few years due to lack of money. I do, however, take a lot of free online 'classes' and read alot about it. I don't take the classes to learn how to take pictures, I can do that wonderfully with just my talent, I like to learn more about exposure, camera settings, lighting, and other tips and suggestions. My problem is that a lot of people think to be a photographer you have to have schooling and lots of it. I am also fairly young, almost 19. I have the professional equipment that my husband and I bought prior to advertising my work, and I have a lot of experience. I think the pictures and your professionalism should prove it self when I do a person or families shots, but the thing is, I get a lot of people who look past me because of my lack of schooling and age. My prices are extremely cheap, below $100, mostly below $75, and I am confident in my work. What tips would you give me to bring in more customers? I am in the process of learning GIMP and continue reading all about new things with photography. Is there any PROFESSIONAL photographers on here that have made it where they want with out schooling?